## **TEXAS RURAL EDUCATION ASSOCIATION** 7415 SOUTHWEST PKWY BLDG 6, STE 500 #243; AUSTIN, TEXAS 78735 (877) 567-8732 | txrea.com



Bill Tarleton, Executive Director Bonnie Walker, Director of Operations Kasey Hyde, Coordinator of Member Services Maverick Walker, Coordinator of Marketing & Events

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## TREA Celebrates Young Artists: Announcing the Winners of the 2025 Student Art Contest

**AUSTIN, TX – May 6, 2025** – The Texas Rural Education Association (TREA) is delighted to announce the talented winners of its 2025 Student Art Contest! This year's competition showcased the impressive creativity and dedication of nearly 200 young artists from across rural Texas.

TREA is incredibly proud of every student who participated and poured their hard work into their submissions. The winning artwork, demonstrating exceptional skill and imagination, will be featured at the TREA Annual Conference taking place June 22-25, 2025, at the Kalahari Resort in Round Rock.

The contest recognized talent across three grade-level divisions, with each division awarding cash prizes to the top three artists: \$500 for 1st Place, \$300 for 2nd Place, and \$150 for 3rd Place. We also want to thank BLICK Art Materials for awarding gift certificates to all of the winners as well as the art teachers that submitted the students' work.

"We are consistently blown away by the artistic talent within our rural schools, and this year's submissions truly impressed us," said Bill Tarleton, TREA Executive Director. "A huge congratulations to all the winners, and a heartfelt thank you to every student who shared their artwork with us. At TREA, we are committed to supporting students in rural communities, and we hope this contest encourages these young artists to continue exploring their passion for art."

For those interested in experiencing the winning artwork firsthand or learning more about the TREA Annual Conference, please visit our website at txrea.com.

	3-5 Grades	6-8 Grades	9-12 Grades
1st Place	Brent Belanger   Peaster ISD	Heidi Koenig   Palacios ISD	Collin Mahanna   Scurry-Rosser ISD
2nd Place	Emma Ash   Cushing ISD	Brayden Franke   Goliad ISD	Jacquelin Martinez   Cushing ISD
3rd Place	Edwin Lopez   Peaster ISD	Michael Miller   Scurry-Rosser ISD	Daniela DeLeon   Goliad ISD