Bill Tarleton, Executive Director Bonnie Walker, Director of Operations Kasey Hyde, Coordinator of Member Services Maverick Walker, Coordinator of Marketing & Events



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 23, 2024 Winners Announced for 2024 TREA"...Of the Year" Awards

The Texas Rural Education Association (TREA) announces the winners for their annual Of the Year (OTY) Awards, which includes School Board OTY, Superintendent OTY, Principal OTY, Teacher OTY, and Paraprofessional OTY. The awards aim to recognize the hard work and dedication of educators across the state of Texas, particularly those in rural communities.

The winners for each award category were chosen from a pool of exceptional educators from TREA's 411 member school districts. The finalists will be recognized and the winners will be presented with their awards at the OTY Awards Luncheon, which will take place on Tuesday, June 25 at the Kalahari Resort in Round Rock during TREA's annual conference from June 23-26, 2024. The Teacher OTY will be the keynote speaker at the awards luncheon.

TREA applauds all of the staff and school boards from their member school districts for their tireless efforts in providing quality education to students in rural Texas communities. The finalists and winners for these prestigious awards are exceptional examples of the hard work and dedication that goes into ensuring that students receive the best education possible.

This year's group of nominees made the decision extremely difficult for the judges. TREA congratulates all of the winners and finalists and looks forward to celebrating them at the OTY Awards Luncheon. The organization is honored to have the opportunity to highlight the achievements of educators in rural Texas and to recognize the important role they play in shaping the future of the state.

<u>Teacher OTY</u> Stephanie Ellis | Dalhart ISD <u>Principal OTY</u> Staci Maddox | Dalhart ISD <u>School Board OTY</u> Paraprofessional OTY

Terry Pruitt | Cushing ISD

Superintendent OTY

Dr. Greg Bower | Como-Pickton CISD

Newton ISD